Along with English, Hindi is the most widely used language in North India (including the Hindi belt) as the official language of the government of India. Due to the fame and influence of Bollywood movies, melodies and artists, well-to-do people in Afghanistan, especially in Kabul, can speak and understand Hindi-Urdu. Hindi is similarly spoken by a large number of Madhesi people (who settled in northern India, however, they have moved to Nepal to more than a large area of Nepal). Apart from this, Hindi is spoken by the vast Indian diaspora that comes from or originates from the "Hindi belt" of India. It is significant that the northern Indian diaspora lives in countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Suriname, South Africa, Fiji, and Mauritius, where they speak at home and with each other. Hindustani-speaking network. Outside of India, there are 8 million Hindi speakers in Nepal; 863,077 in the United States of America; 450,170 in Mauritius; 380,000 in Fiji; 250,292 in South Africa; 150,000 in Suriname; 100,000 in Uganda; 45,800 in the UK; 20,000 in New Zealand; 20,000 in Germany; 26,000 in Trinidad and Tobago; 3,000 in Singapore.

sponsored links


Under section 343, the official languages of the Union are specified, including Hindi in the Devanagari script and English:

sponsored links
  • (1) The official language of the Union must be Hindi in the Devanagari script. The form of digits to be used for official Union purposes is the international form of Indian numbers.
  • (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of clause (1), fifteen years after the beginning of this Constitution, the English language will continue to be used for all official purposes of the Union. During this period, the president may order the use of Devanagari numbers in addition to the English language and the international form of Indian numbers for any official purpose of Union.

“The Union should promote the diffusion of the Hindi language, develop it in such a way that it can serve as a means of expression for all elements of the complex culture of India, and ensure its enrichment, assimilation, without its genius, affect their shapes, their style and their forms of expression. used in Hindustani and the other languages of India listed in the Eighth Appendix, and loans if necessary or desirable for their vocabulary, mainly in Sanskrit and secondarily in other languages.’’-states Article 351 of the Indian Constitution.

It was envisaged that Hindi would become the sole working language of the Central Government by 1965 (Article 344 (2) and Article 351). However, widespread resistance to the imposition of Hindi by non-native speakers, especially from southern India (such as Tamil Nadu) led to the passage of the Official Language Act of 1963, which continued to use indefinite English. Kept However, all the government objectives were maintained by the central government's constitutional directive to promote the spread of Hindi and its policies were severely affected.

At the state level, Hindi is the official language of the following states in India: Bihar, Chattysgar, Hariyana, Himachal Pradesh, Jarkand, Madiya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaracand. It is a block and subdivision where more than 10% of the population speaks Hindi and serves as an additional official language of West Bengal. Each can also specify a "joint official language". For example, in Uttar Pradesh, the language is generally Urdu, depending on the political formation of power. Similarly, Hindi has received official language status in the following federal jurisdictions: Metropolitan Area, Andaman Nikobal, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu Islands.

The status of the national language of Hindi has been the subject of much debate. In 2010, the Gujarat High Court made it clear that Hindi was not the national language of India because the Constitution did not mention it.